Wednesday, April 13, 2011

When the Soul Mends by Cindy Woodsmall

About the book:

The capstone novel in Cindy Woodsmall's Sisters of the Quilt trilogy places Hannah Lapp at the most difficult crossroads in an Amish woman's life. She must choose between her new love and contented life in the Englischer community or the renewal of ties with her Old Order suitor, Paul. Called back to the congregation that ostracized her, she struggles to find her heart's desire as she attempts to ease her conscience. A romantic novel woven deep with strands of faith.

My Review:

Hannah Lapp thought she left the past behind her and intended to move on with her Englischer life. Then all things change when her sister Sarah calls her and begs her to come home again. Hannah can tell that Sarah is in desperate need of someone to talk to and she rushes home to deal with it. Hannah has to face her fears of seeing all the family and community that ridiculed her for so long and try to forgive the past and move forward. While she is there her soul does begin to mend and she finds some answers to her questions and begins forgiving herself and those that hurt her. She is now stuck between the new life she created with Martin and Amish community that she so dearly is drawn to!

What an amazing conclusion to such a powerful story! When the Soul Mends was just as consuming and enjoyable as the first two books in the series. I could not get enough! I don’t suggest reading this book as a stand-alone because there is just so much involved there with Hannah and her past that I feel it’s important to know all the other things she went through. The author did a great job with connecting the reader to the story. I felt like I was almost Hannah’s sister or best friend; I was feeling all the emotions that Hannah felt and my heart was torn in two with feelings that she was going through. There were times that I thought for sure I knew where the story would head and then I was surprised all over again, I never knew until the end who Hannah was going to end up with! I am so happy with the way the series ended, I couldn’t have imagined it to end any better than it did, Cindy did a great job!!

I loved the spiritual matter; it was mild but very affective! There was a lot in the book about forgiveness that just pulled on my heart strings. I talked about how forgiveness is a choice and that God takes it all very seriously and I was amazed with all the characters and their issues with forgiveness!

This is the kind of book that once you start reading the series you really didn’t want to stop. I had to wait weeks to read the last book and it about killed me. Once I picked up When the Soul Mends I couldn’t put it down! Even when it ended I did not want it to, I could have kept reading for another 200 pages! I highly recommend When the Soul Mends!

I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review. 

About the Author:

Cindy Woodsmall is a veteran homeschool mom. As her children progressed in age, her desire to write grew stronger. After working through reservations whether this desire was something she should pursue, she began her writing journey. Her husband was her staunchest supporter as she aimed for what seemed impossible.

Her first novel released in 2006 to much acclaim and became a Christian Book Association best seller. Cindy was a 2007 ECPA Christian Book Award finalist, along with Karen Kingsbury, Angela Hunt, and Charles Martin.

Her lastest book, When the Morning Comes, hit the New York Times best-sellers extended list and the Christian Book Association best-sellers list.

Cindy’s real-life connections with Amish Mennonite and Old Order Amish families enrich her novels with authenticity.

 Her website: 
You can order this book and the whole series at Amazon!


  1. Loved this series so much that I have read them a couple of times now.

  2. I loved this series too. Cindy Woodsmall converted me to Amish fiction. :-)

  3. I have never read any of Cindy Woodsmall's books yet. When the Soul Mends looks like a great book to read. I guess that I will have to read the whole series in order.

    Debbie Clark