Tuesday, April 5, 2011

When the Morning Comes by Cindy Woodsmall

About the book:

Her relationship with fiancé Paul Waddell in tatters, Hannah Lapp has fled her secluded Old Order Amish community in hopes of finding a new home in Ohio with her shunned aunt. Hampered by limited education and hiding her true identity, Hannah struggles to navigate the confusing world of the Englischers.
Back in Owl’s Perch, Pennsylvania, Paul is wracked with regret over his treatment of Hannah. Fearing for her safety, he tries to convince Hannah’s remaining allies–brother Luke, best friend Mary, and loyal Matthew Esh–to help search for his love. Hannah’s father, however, remains steadfastly convinced of her sinful behavior. His blindness to his family’s pain extends to her sister, Sarah, who shows signs of increasing instability.
Convinced her former life is irreparably destroyed, Hannah finds purpose and solace in life with her aunt and in a growing friendship with Englischer Martin Palmer. Will the countless opportunities in her new life persuade Hannah that her place is amongst the Englischers— or will she give in to her heart’s call to return home and face her past?
When the Morning Comes is book two in the Sisters of the Quilt series.

My review:

The Sisters of the Quilt continues! I was so engrossed in this story that as soon as I finished the first book, I read When the Morning Comes before writing my review for the first.  Hopefully I don't confuse the two stories together. In the previous book, When the Heart Cries, Hannah has to face the fact that her relationship with Paul will never be the same and she decides to leave the Amish community to go to Ohio and find the aunt that was shunned.  She struggles with the fact that she has only an eighth grade education and no work experience.  Determination to move on with her life is what makes Hannah such an amazing person.  She moves on with her life and begins pursuing all that she's ever wanted, an education in medicine. She also gets to meet the aunt she never knew she had and forms a close relationship with her.

Back at home at her Amish community though is everyone she left behind. Paul is desperately trying to find her to make things right, and her sister Sarah is having an incredibly hard time coping with what has happened. Along with her what her sister is going through, Matthew is dealing with his own issues of love, Luke and Mary are trying to make it work, and her parents are struggling with the guilt of what they've done.

Cindy Woodsmall again had me so involved in this story that I felt like I could feel the hurt and struggles of Hannah like they were my own.  I wanted to put the book down out of frustration and pain and then I wanted to never put the book down.  There is so much heartbreak that is involved even though Hannah is building a successful life for herself.  I am anxiously awaiting the last book in the series to come in the mail this week so I can find out the conclusion to this story!  I don't know much about Amish fiction but I do know a good book when I find one and this series is so very touching and amazing that I feel I have to search out more Amish books!!

About the author:
 Cindy Woodsmall is a veteran homeschool mom. As her children progressed in age, her desire to write grew stronger. After working through reservations whether this desire was something she should pursue, she began her writing journey. Her husband was her staunchest supporter as she aimed for what seemed impossible.

Her first novel released in 2006 to much acclaim and became a Christian Book Association best seller. Cindy was a 2007 ECPA Christian Book Award finalist, along with Karen Kingsbury, Angela Hunt, and Charles Martin.

Her latest book, When the Morning Comes, hit the New York Times best-sellers extended list and the Christian Book Association best-sellers list.

Cindy’s real-life connections with Amish Mennonite and Old Order Amish families enrich her novels with authenticity.

Her website: 
You can buy her book online at Amazon! 


  1. Thanks for this review as well. I've read this series and its one of the best I've ever read. Cindy is just a great writer!

  2. This series truly is an amazing read!! I couldn't get enough!!